Partner themes are premium themes from third-party developers. This guide explains how to install, edit, and manage partner themes.
This feature is available on plugin-enabled sites with our WordPress.com Personal, Premium, Business, and Commerce plans. If your site has one of these plans, make sure to activate it. For sites on the free plan, upgrade your plan to access this feature.
Partner themes are developed by third-party creators who have made their themes available to purchase and install directly through your WordPress.com dashboard. We assess every theme to ensure a high-quality design and technical performance so you can feel safe choosing any of these themes for your website.
You can identify a partner theme by the “Partner” label next to the theme, as shown here:

You can install a partner theme following the same steps to install any theme. The one difference is when you choose a partner theme, you’ll go to a checkout page to purchase a subscription for the theme.
Install a partner theme following these steps:
- From your site’s dashboard, go to Appearance → Theme Showcase (or Appearance → Themes if your site uses the Default style).
- Browse the available themes and click on the theme you’d like to install. Partner themes will be labeled with “Partner“.
- Click the “Subscribe to activate” button.
- You’ll be taken to a secure checkout to pay for the theme subscription.
- Complete the checkout process to automatically activate the theme on your site.

If you change your mind, you can cancel and refund the subscription for a theme within 7 days for monthly subscriptions and 14 days for annual subscriptions. For more, see our refund policy.
If you change your site’s theme, your subscription to your theme will remain active. The theme will stay accessible if you want to switch back to it.
Partner themes take advantage of the latest WordPress editing features. You will use the Site Editor to edit a partner theme.
Each theme includes an Info page to learn more about your theme and how it works. To view a theme’s Info page:
- Navigate to Appearance → Themes.
- Locate your theme in the list.
- Click the three dots icon in the lower-right corner of that theme.
- Click on the “Info” option.
Your selected theme may include a special feature that makes your site look like the theme’s demo site. You can consult your theme’s support guide/documentation or contact the theme’s support team for more help.
If you have questions about your theme, you can contact us for help.
WordPress.com will handle questions related to theme activation, billing issues, and general functionality.
For more technical questions specific to the theme, such as the theme’s configuration and advanced troubleshooting, we will connect you directly to the theme developers for further assistance. The theme developer’s name is listed at the top of the theme’s Info page, as described in the previous section.
You can renew the theme subscription, add a new payment method, turn auto-renew on or off, or cancel your subscription. For more information, refer to our guide on managing purchases on WordPress.com.
You can cancel the theme subscription by following these steps:
- Visit your profile at https://my.wordpress.com/me/account.
- On the side, select the Billing menu option, then Active Upgrades.
- Under the “Active Upgrades” section, locate the theme’s name and click on it.
- Scroll towards the bottom of the screen and click the “Cancel subscription” option.
After you cancel the subscription for the theme, it will remain available on your site until it expires on the last day of the previously purchased subscription period. Your site’s theme will then change to one of our default themes unless you choose a different theme for your site before the subscription expires.
If you want to remove the theme subscription immediately, you can repeat the same steps for canceling the subscription as covered above, and you’ll then see the “Remove subscription” option. Your site’s theme will change to one of our default themes unless you pick a different theme for your site before the subscription expires.
Partner themes require an eligible plan to function. If your site’s plan expires, the partner theme will no longer be available on your site. The site’s theme will be automatically removed and reverted to one of our default themes. If this happens, you can follow our guide to restore your site to how it was before your site plan expired.